Purpose of these messages, is to instil in Believers a sense of Heaven so that we may desire to bring the lost into God’s presence through our serving them.

Take a moment to consider these two questions:

  • What do you think Heaven will be like?
  • How would experiencing Heaven affect your life?

I will adress the following in this post:

  • What is Heaven?
  • How can we have access?

What is Heaven?

I used to think that heaven would be really boring, as clouds make a pretty monotonous landscape to look at for eternity, I don’t particularly like harp music and none of the stuff I liked was going to be on offer.  Yet, I had a vivid mental picture of Hell’s fires and the horror of the demons and Devil, so if I could choose, heaven would do.  But this picture also made me want to put off any firm decisions about faith for as long as possible, so that I could enjoy what was on offer in the meantime.

This is of course far from what those who have seen it describe, as does the Bible.  Look up Ian McCormack’s after death experience on YouTube as an example.

As we read Isaiah 6 we will also get a

glimpse of the throne.

It is important to realise that even in the Bible one has to discern what is being spoken about when the word heaven is mentioned.  There is the expanse or firmament between the waters as spoken of in the Creation account of Genesis 1, the description of the creation of Earth’s atmosphere.  This is the part birds and clouds occur in, then there is the cosmos defined by space and time, and finally the realm where God and the angels are found, outside of time. It is this eternal heaven we are interested in.

Isaiah 6 NIV

I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. 2 Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. 3 And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” 4 At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke. 5 “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.”

This is how the prophet Isaiah described it.  Bearing in mind he didn’t have any CGI or other special effects experience to relate the grandeur he saw to, his brief description is still amazing and weird at the same time.   This vision is confirmed by John in the book of Revelation hundreds of years later.  I am persuaded that as these creatures sorround the throne of God, they are seeing God’s perfection and wisdom and have been doing so for ever.  The word “holy” is derived from Old English hālig; akin to Old English hāl whole, according to Merriam-Webster.  So this wholeness implies, “nothing lacking”.  This is inconceivable to us, but the glory of such perfection must be inexhaustible, so that from one instant to another a new aspect of God’s perfection is displayed for eternity, so that the only words appropriate to describe the spectacle are “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty…”

How can we have Access?

Isaiah new that no matter how good a person is, it is incomparable to the holiness of God.  That is why he was persuaded that he was ruined.  The only solution to be able to access His presence is if God reaches to us, not we to him. His response is love and compassion when he sees our condition. John 3:16 NIV “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

It is accepting God’s provision in Jesus, that allows us to become citizens of heaven!  Rejecting God the Father’s provision leaves us under sin, and God’s just nature requires sin to be punished. John 3:36 NIV Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.” It is a decision made in this life!

What’s more, not only do we get to be citizens of heaven, but Jesus has more in mind.  Listen to him talking to the Father about us: John 17:24-26 24 “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world. 25 “Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. 26 I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

We do not just have a God who could just have watched us from a distance, but who indentifies with us as human beings, to the point of wanting to live intimately with us!  What will our response be to God and to our fellow man?

Leave a Reply

